Skip to main content

Frequently Asked Questions: About the Library

Includes information about the Library, Donors Forum and LibGuides.

The Library has WiFi!

Can't find the answer to your question?

Email general questions to us at Library@donorsforum.org.  If appropriate, we will add it to our FAQs.  Don't worry - we will not include your name if we decided to include it.

Frequently Asked Questions

Where is the Library located?

The Library is located at 208 South LaSalle, Suite 1535, in Chicago – just down the hall from Forefront’s main offices in Suite 1540.

What are the Library’s hours?

The Library is open to the public between 12:00 PM and 5:00 PM, Monday – Friday.  Library closings are announced on the Website.

What is in the Library’s collection?

Our collection includes books, periodicals, and digital resources on grantwriting, grantmaking, fundraising, nonprofit management, leadership, governance, and other topics.

Can I check out books?

The Library is non-circulating, so you must look at books in the Library.

Can I access databases remotely?

Members have remote access to EBSCO databases, but all other databases are available onsite at the Library only.

Can I use my own laptop?

Yes. We are happy to help you access databases on your laptop.  Just ask a librarian for help.

Can you teach me how to use the databases?

We can get your started on your search, but we recommend that you attend a free Introduction to Prospect Research workshop for an overview before you get started.  You can register online.

Can I bring my college class to the Library to learn about researching grants for nonprofits?

Absolutely, but please contact us in advance to schedule a presentation for your class.

How much does it cost to print or copy?

You can print or copy up to a combined total of 30 pages per day for free.  We encourage you to take advantage of saving your information to a flash drive and emailing documents to yourself.

Does the Library have headphones I can borrow?

We do not lend headphones. Because the public access computers are for research, we ask that you if you supply your own headphones, you limit viewing to videos that are available through the LibGuides or Forefront's Websites.

Will you do research for my organization?

Membership benefits include prospect and best practices reference services by the Library's team.  Members can email reference questions to us at member411@myforefront.org or submit a request here.